Laser-Cut Earbud Owl Keeps Your Cords Tangle-Free

I’m a big fan of anything that corrals our cord clutter, but we can’t help but appreciate the craftsmanship that went into this very clever DIY earbud owl. The design template is available as a download from Thingiverse; once you’ve got it, all you need is a laser cutter. If you have one go hooting crazy otherwise send me an email and we’ll cut you one for a small fee.

The Thingiverse design shows an earbud owl cut from plastic, but we really appreciate the rustic woodcut pictured. Either way, this is one impressive but relatively simple DIY.

Tagged: , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Laser-Cut Earbud Owl Keeps Your Cords Tangle-Free

  1. Trevor Morris November 3, 2011 at 3:19 pm Reply

    How much would it cost to get a couple of these cut and mailed to Canada? Thanks!

    • muzoo design- Laser cutting love November 7, 2011 at 11:11 am Reply

      HI Trevor,
      I would love to help but as it turns out the designer has not posted the proper design files for us to use. I could redesign but I don’t have an iphone anymore.
      If I can get a hold of a pair this week I will let you know.
      Cost would be 5 dollars each ex postage.

      • Trevor Morris November 10, 2011 at 4:00 pm

        I don’t have an iPhone either, but I like this “earbud manager”. I’m happy with the current design if you can just use that. I’m also fine with the price + postage and would be happy to pay via PayPal.

      • muzoo design- Laser cutting love November 13, 2011 at 7:58 pm

        Ok Trevor, I’ll give it a go.
        How many would you like and would you like them in either 3mm thick acrylic (green, yellow, orange) or in plywood in which I could engrave a spiral pattern of effect or maybe some text if you woud like to add it on?

  2. Trevor Morris November 16, 2011 at 2:40 pm Reply

    I’d like two, please. Do you have a recommendation on the acrylic vs. plywood? Which one do you prefer, and which do you think is a nicer end product? (I’m leaning toward acrylic, but I’ll consider your recommendation.)

    • muzoo design- Laser cutting love November 17, 2011 at 8:45 pm Reply

      Hi Trevor,

      I did a test, and authough plywood is nice its a bit to flexible, so I will make them in Acrylic.
      I though the best way for you to purchase them was through my Etsy store, heres the link.
      http://www.etsy.com/listing/86401829/ear-bud-owl-tangle-free-cords
      I just put them up.
      Looking forward to your order!

      • Trevor Morris November 17, 2011 at 11:29 pm

        If you don’t mind, could you please contact me via email. If you don’t have my email (associated with this account), you can send me a comment via the website associated with this account and I’ll reply to you from there. Thanks!

Tell us,

